THE SQL Server Blog Spot on the Web

Welcome to SQLblog.com - The SQL Server blog spot on the web Sign in | |
in Search

Peter DeBetta's SQL Programming Blog

Peter DeBetta's blog about programming in SQL Server using technologies such as T-SQL, .NET, CLR, C#, VB, Visual Studio, and SQL Server Management Studio.

SQL vs. Oracle Live Debate (AKA Smackdown!)

A few years ago I was speaking at a conference in Raleigh, NC where Ted Neward and I found a fun way to promote a Java vs. .NET debate that was planned one evening. We stood in the middle of a crowd during one of the breaks and starting “arguing” about Java vs. .NET with one another. Our voice levels quickly raised and we ended it by slapping each other across the face with a glove to request a challenge. It was a great way to segue to our announcing of the actual debate planned later that evening. As you can imagine, it is a lively topic, with many folks taking extreme positions.

And so I found out about another highly debatable topic that is happening soon. Red Gate is sponsoring a live debate entitled “Oracle Heap Tables or SQL Server Clustered Indexes?”. Jonathan Lewis and Grant Fritchey will be “duking it out” on Thursday 7th June 2012 at 11:00 AM EDT (17:00 CEST, 16:00 BST, 10:00 CDT, 08:00 PDT).

To read more about the event, please visit: http://www.red-gate.com/products/sql-development/sql-source-control/webinar-oracle-heaped-tables-sql-clustered-indexes.

To register for the event, please visit: https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/270039946

The live webinar is free of charge, but spaces are limited, so register soon!

Published Wednesday, May 30, 2012 2:43 PM by Peter W. DeBetta
Filed under: ,

Comment Notification

If you would like to receive an email when updates are made to this post, please register here

Subscribe to this post's comments using RSS

Comments

No Comments

Leave a Comment

(required) 
(required) 
Submit

About Peter W. DeBetta

Peter DeBetta works for Microsoft as an Application Platform Technology Strategist, specializing in strategies, design, implementation, and deployment of Microsoft SQL Server and .NET solutions. Peter writes courseware, articles, and books – most recently the title Introducing SQL Server 2008 from Microsoft Press. Peter speaks at conferences around the world, including TechEd, SQL PASS Community Summit, DevTeach, SQL Connections, DevWeek, and VSLive!

When Peter isn’t working, you can find him singing and playing guitar (click here to hear an original song by Peter), taking pictures, or simply enjoying life with his wife, son, and daughter.
Powered by Community Server (Commercial Edition), by Telligent Systems
  Privacy Statement